BC's
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
BC's

Billy's Substitute WTJ Forum

You are not connected. Please login or register

A Tribute To Mitch Mitchell

4 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1A Tribute To Mitch Mitchell Empty A Tribute To Mitch Mitchell Fri Nov 13, 2009 7:05 pm

spanky

spanky

I had forgot, but on November the 12 Mitch had become dead a year. I was really sad about his passing, I learned so much from him. I and many others still think that he was the first rock fusion drummer. Also much further down in the last post, is the anger that he held for the Hendrix estate.

spanky

Here is some stuff from Drummer World
A child actor, Mitch was largely self taught, though he received some lessons when he worked in Jim Marshall’s (the Amp man) music store. Mitch did some free lance work before settling in with Georgie Fame and the Blue Fames. One of the great UK jazz inflected R&B bands. After 18 months George fired the whole band as management wanted a change in direction. The next day Mitch got a call from Chas Chandler to come and try out with this American he was managing. Mitch was invited to join for two weeks work
touring France. One of the great musical synergies was born.

Jimi Hendrix has a magnificent rhythmic drive, his playing sets the groove. He also has a strong idea what the bass player is to play. Indeed he is a pretty good bass player himself as on several tracks he replaced Noel Redding and recorded the bass himself ("All Along the Watchtower",
"1984…"). With Jimi setting the groove and the bass player holding it and following his lead, the drummer had great opportunity to fill and interact. Jimi and Mitch are closer to Townshend and Moon, then with Cream (Baker had two lead guitarists!).